Grouped Scatterplots

I have to describe the Trend/Association and Strength of a scatter plot that has grouped data. How can I describe this?
Thanks

1 Like

Hi Olivia,

I am just a student like you but I will try my best to help you,
To describe the trend and strength make sure you refer to the correlation coefficient. For example, if your correlation coefficient is close to 1, then you can say there is a strong positive relationship. However, if it is close to -1, then there is a strong negative linear relationship. If it is somewhere in between, then there is a moderate relationship

Look at outliers and discuss whether these outliers are reasonable and what may have caused them. How would your data look different if they were removed.

Another point when talking about the strength could be where the bulk of the data is at. If it is clustered around the regression line at the start but spread out towards the end, you should definitely mention that.

Anything that is particularly striking when observing the data is worth mentioning. Remember to always relate this to your research.

Causation and Correlation is definitely something worth mentioning.

I did this internal in term 1 and that is all I could remember. Sorry if this is stuff you already knew!

1 Like

Hi Olivia
At present the discussion forums are closed, however we can provide you an answer - please pop to the discussions next week when they reopen :slight_smile:

Thanks Newton’s Apple for your response too!